top of page


(New York, NY) Producers announced today that two-time Tony Award nominee Brandon Uranowitz will join the cast of the 10-time Tony Award-winning Best Musical, THE BAND’S VISIT, as “Itzik.” Uranowitz will begin performances in The Band’s Visit on Tuesday, October 9, 2018.

A two-time Tony Award nominee for his roles in An American in Paris and Falsettos, Brandon Uranowitz most recently starred as Otto Kringelein in the acclaimed New York City Center Encores! production of Grand Hotel, directed by Josh Rhodes. Other Broadway credits include George/Emcee/Molina in Prince of Broadway, a retrospective celebration of the work of Hal Prince, co-directed by Mr. Prince and Susan Stroman at Manhattan Theatre Club. After studying drama at NYU Tisch, Brandon joined the national touring company of Rent, directed by Michael Greif. Regionally, Brandon was nominated for a Helen Hayes Award for the role of Arnold Beckoff in Torch Song Trilogy, which was directed by Michael Kahn at DC's Studio Theatre. Peter Marks of the Washington Post called Uranowitz "perfect... impeccably dry" and "effortlessly hilarious, a performer revealing for us the facets of Arnold’s pain and potential for happiness that really lights up this stage.” He also starred as Eugene in Neil Simon’s Broadway Bound, directed by Scott Schwartz at the Old Globe. Film credits include the upcoming feature The Kitchen, starring Melissa McCarthy, and Stage Fright. On television, Brandon can be seen in a recurring role on the upcoming season of “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” for Amazon. He’s also guested on “Dietland” (AMC), “Blue Bloods” (CBS), “Inside Amy Schumer” (Comedy Central) and “Law & Order: Criminal Intent” (NBC).

As of October 9, the Broadway company of THE BAND’S VISIT also includes Tony Award winner Katrina Lenk, Sasson Gabay, Tony Award winner Ari'el Stachel, Etai Benson, Adam Kantor, Andrew Polk, Samir Shukry, Bill Army, Joseph Kamal, Rachel Prather, Jonathan Raviv, Sharone Sayegh, Kristen Sieh, Layan Elwazani, Pomme Koch, Ahmad Maksoud, Jodi McFadden and James Rana. Musicians include Andrea Grody, Alexandra Eckhardt, Ossama Farouk, Philip Mayer, Sam Sadigursky, Jeff Theiss, Harvey Valdes and Garo Yellin.

The critically acclaimed “best reviewed new musical of the season” (The New York Times), THE BAND’S VISIT is now the 10-time Tony Award-winning Best Musical. The Band’s Visit is tied in third place for the most Tony Awards for a single show, behind The Producers (12) and Hamilton (11), tied with Hello, Dolly! and Billy Elliot; and is one of only three other shows to receive the “Big Six” (Best Musical, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Direction, Best Book and Best Score), alongside Sweeney Todd, Hairspray and South Pacific. The Band’s Visit and has also won “Best Musical” awards from the Drama League, New York Drama Critics’ Circle, the Outer Critics Circle, the Lucille Lortel and the Obies.

THE BAND’S VISIT opened at Broadway’s Ethel Barrymore Theatre (243 West 47th Street) on Thursday, November 9, 2017, featuring music and lyrics by Tony and Drama Desk Award winner David Yazbek, and a book by Tony Award, NY Drama Critics Circle, Lortel and Outer Critics Circle awards winner Itamar Moses. It is based on the screenplay by Eran Kolirin, and is directed by Tony, Drama Desk, Lortel & Obie Award winner David Cromer.

THE BAND’S VISIT world premiere opened to critical acclaim at the Atlantic Theater Company on December 8, 2016, where the sold-out, limited engagement extended twice, playing its final performance on Sunday, January 8, 2017.

THE BAND’S VISIT has won 10 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Best Original Score (David Yazbek), Best Book (Itamar Moses), Lead Actress (Katrina Lenk), Lead Actor (Tony Shalhoub), Featured Actor (Ari’el Stachel), Lighting Design (Tyler Micoleau), Sound Design (Kai Harada), Orchestrations (Jamshied Sharifi) and Director (David Cromer); the Drama League Award for Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical; the New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award for Best Musical; two Lucille Lortel Awards, for Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical (Katrina Lenk); two Outer Critics Circle Awards, for Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical and Outstanding Score (David Yazbek); two Obie Awards, for Musical Theater (David Yazbek & Itamar Moses), and Directing (David Cromer); three Drama Desk Awards, for Outstanding Director of a Musical (David Cromer), Outstanding Music (David Yazbek) and Outstanding Lyrics (David Yazbek); The Joe A. Callaway Award for outstanding direction (David Cromer); The Dramatists Guild’s 2017 Frederick Loewe Award for Dramatic Composition for David Yazbek’s score; and Theatre World Award’s Dorothy Louden Award for Theatre Excellence (Katrina Lenk). THE BAND’S VISIT has broken the all-time box office record at Broadway’s Barrymore Theatre twice.

The Original Broadway Cast Recording of THE BAND’S VISIT was released by Ghostlight Records and is available digitally and in stores everywhere. Kurt Deutsch served as album executive producer; David Yazbek and Dean Sharenow served as producers.

After a mix-up at the border, an Egyptian Police Band is sent to a remote village in the middle of the Israeli desert. With no bus until morning and no hotel in sight, these unlikely travelers are taken in by the locals. Under the spell of the desert sky, their lives become intertwined in the most unexpected ways. THE BAND’S VISIT celebrates the deeply human ways music, longing and laughter can connect us all.

The creative team includes Patrick McCollum (Choreography), Scott Pask (Set Design), Sarah Laux (Costume Design), Tony Award winner Tyler Micoleau (Lighting Design), Tony Award winner Kai Harada (Sound Design), Maya Ciarrocchi (Projection Design), Charles G. LaPointe (Hair Designer), Tony Award winner Jamshied Sharifi (Orchestrations), Andrea Grody (Music Supervisor, Music Director & Additional Arrangements) and Dean Sharenow (Music Supervisor & Music Coordinator).

THE BAND’S VISIT is produced by Orin Wolf, StylesFour Productions, Evamere Entertainment, Atlantic Theater Company, David F. Schwartz, Barbara Broccoli, Frederick Zollo, Grove•REG, Lassen Blume Baldwin, Thomas Steven Perakos, Marc Platt, The Shubert Organization, The Baruch/Routh/Frankel/Viertel Group, Robert Cole, DeRoy-Carr-Klausner, Federman-Moellenberg, FilmNation Entertainment, Roy Furman, FVSL Theatricals, Hendel-Karmazin, HoriPro Inc., IPN, JAM Theatricals, The John Gore Organization, Koenigsberg-Krauss, David Mirvish, James L. Nederlander, Al Nocciolino, Once Upon A Time Productions, Susan Rose and Paul Shiverick. The Executive Producer for THE BAND’S VISIT is Allan Williams.

The North American Tour of The Band’s Visit will launch in Providence, Rhode Island in June 2019. Exact dates and additional cities will be announced at a later date.

Theatrical licensor Music Theatre International (MTI) holds the worldwide licensing rights to The Band’s Visit.

Ticket Information

Tickets ($49 – $169, including the $2 facility fee) are available at, 212.239.6200, or at the Barrymore Theatre box office (243 West 47th Street). For groups of 10 or more, please contact Broadway Inbound at or 866.302.0995.

Performance Schedule

The performance schedule for THE BAND’S VISIT is: Tuesday – Thursday at 7pm; Friday & Saturday at 8pm; with matinees at 2pm on Wednesday & Saturday; Sunday at 3pm.


# # #

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page